• Categories

  • Archives

  • What We Sell

  • Etsy Malaysia on Flickr

    More Photos

Eatsy Malaysia – Bao Xiang Bak Kut Teh

This week I want to introduce a chinese delicacy that is most familiar to local chinese – Bak Kut Teh. The literal translation of the words bak kut teh means ‘meat bone tea’. I guess it can be considered as a stew-like type of food, with pork ribs, meat, and often times even innards simmering in a deliciously complex herbal broth. There are a large variety of bak kut teh, but today I’m going to introduce the string-tied type. :)

Bao Xiang Bak Kut Teh is a retail bak kut teh restaurant scattered in many places in the Selangor and KL area. I have heard that the quality differs from area to area, (specifically, I heard the Pavillion one sucks) I had only tried at the one in Glenmarie, Shah Alam and the one in SS15, Subang Jaya. But I find that the food is quite delicious. :9

There is a large variety of meat from different parts of the pig that you could order, and unlike regular bak kut teh where it comes in one large bowl, these come in individual serving size bowls. There is actually a fire underneath each bowl to keep the soup warm. I find this quite interesting, sometimes if the fire lasts really long, the soup can still be boiling when we finished the meat!

Traditional pork ribs! When you order, be sure to tell them you want the large ribs though. (the upper ribs)

But my favorite thing about Bao Xiang Bak Kut Teh is their rice. It is slightly flavored, but nothing too strong that it will deter from the taste of the meat and soup. In fact, it goes along really well with the soup. :) Plus it is sooooo soft it almost melts in your mouth! That is saying something though, because I am the type of person that doesn’t like soft rice.

Mmmm satisfied!!

Their menu with the choice of parts and vegetables to choose from.

This is the shop front in Glenmarie, also the one I most frequent with my colleagues. And below is a map to go to the shop in Glenmarie, but the restaurant chain also has outlets in One Utama and other places. I’m not sure about the quality, but so far I’ve only heard that the one in Pavillion, KL sucks. If you need a quick fix of bak kut teh and doesn’t have the luxury to go all the way to Klang, this is definitely highly recommended. :)

Click for larger map.

