• Categories

  • Archives

  • What We Sell

  • Etsy Malaysia on Flickr

    More Photos

Eatsy Malaysia: Penang Asam Laksa.

Etsy has a series of weekly post, Eatsy, where they talk about the seasonal dishes they are digging into. With Malaysia’s rich cultural background and almost endless food from heaven, I thought we can also start sharing what we can eat and find all around Malaysia. We’re hoping to have Eatsy Malaysia posts up for 3 times a month, so if you have a favourite recipe of a local cuisine to share, or have found the best char koay teow, email huey@nottypooch.com with photos and write-ups! :)

To kickstart this series of oh-so-yummy posts, I would like to share one of my favourite local dishes in Penang from one of my favourite stalls. Before this, my apologies on the not-so-great photos, as I was unexpectedly not equipped with my compact camera during the recent food hunt, and had to resolve using the camera on my mobile phone.

If you love sour and spicy, you’ll love this. Penang Asam Laksa is often found served with thick rice noodles. Asam is the Malay word for tamarind. It gives the soup a sour taste. Common ingredients for a bowl of Penang Asam Laksa include shredded mackerel (ikan kembung), cucumber, pineapple, lettuce, onions, chili, mint, lemongrass, and sweet shrimp paste.

There is a particular stall selling Penang Asam Laksa that I love the most. It’s just right opposite where I used to study. It was quite a distance away when I was younger and I remember walking along the road with my friends just to have a bowl of laksa and a glass of sugarcane juice. Those were the days!

And if I remember correctly, this stall also started the culture of serving fried spring roll with Asam Laksa, which then lead to dipping fried spring roll in Asam Laksa – a totally awesome way to please your taste buds. So if you happen to visit Penang, make sure to try this out. It’s open daily (except Tuesday), from about 11am-4pm or 5pm. I can’t find the row of shop lots on Google Map, but it’s just right opposite Penang Chinese Girls’ High School as shown in the map.

9 Responses

  1. (^__^) I have this laksa on Saturday during my high school life. It’s my saturyday lunch during the break of my co-cu activities. It’s just opposite my school.

  2. Love those Penang Assam Laksa! It has a special place in heart of all Penangites (I am a Penangite too!). Oh! How I missed those aromatic and yummilious Assam Laksa ;(

    • Ooo really! Didn’t know you are a Penangite! (Or did I? Ish I’m old!) Anyhow yeah, Penang Asam Laksa will always have a place in our heart! :D

  3. i challenge penang assam laksa with paramount o & s assam laksa! :D

    • LOL! I’ve heard about the Asam Laksa there but never got the chance to try out – maybe because I don’t believe any Asam Laksa will be better than those in Penang. LOL! Next time when I’m in KL, I gotta make sure I go try out!

  4. Yummm..you people making me hungry!!

  5. ohmai! guess i know what i’ll be having for dinner!

Comments are closed.

