• Categories

  • Archives

  • What We Sell

  • Etsy Malaysia on Flickr

    More Photos

What We Did to Hit the Etsy Front Page and Storque?

During the last two weeks, I was thrilled to find several of our items hitting Etsy’s front page for a total of 5 times and Etsy blog Storque for 2 times. We’ve hit both the front page and Storque for several times but was never so many within such a short period of time. Several members asked what have we done to get this, so I thought I’ll share what I have in mind.

The truth is, I’ve done nothing special, except for the basics – creating your appearance online, and in this case, on Etsy.

Etsy is a huge website, and there are many spaces in it to gain ourselves exposure and creating your appearance on it, for instance, Etsy forum, Chat Room, Storque blog, and Treasury, just to name a few. Actively participating at these venues and get to know other artists behind are good ways to promote yourself and creating your appearance. But do keep in mind that ‘actively participating’ doesn’t mean ‘spamming’. If you don’t have something nice to contribute or say, the best is DON’T SAY IT. It’s up to you on how much time you have to spend at these spaces. I normally limit myself to one hour per day or so, and only check on valuable information and avoid threads and info that I don’t like.

Creating Treasury is also a good way to promote others and yourself. When you create a Treasury, it always helps if you could inform those that you’ve included in the Treasury – I know this is a lot of work and I sometimes skip this too. But hey, business doesn’t come naturally, whether you own a brick-and-mortar store or an online store. It’s all hard work. The advantage of informing other artists is that you’ll leave a good impression and chances are, they might like your work and the next time they create a Treasury, they might include you too. It’s all good karma. And who knows, WHAT IF that Treasury hit the Front Page? *wink wink*

If you have been having a hard time catching a Treasury, try this website. Check the Treasury Clock. It will show you when the Treasury will open up.

Listing new items will always have your items visible in the first few search pages, and it gives people something fresh to see from your shop. If you frequent the forum often, you’ll find that some sellers recommend renewing too. I think it’s up to you and your own budget. Kelly has put up a good resource for beginners on having good shop policy, title, descriptions, tag, photo, etc here. One thing that I’d like to share is that, I spent a really HUGE amount of time checking our shop and item title, as well as descriptions, and tags. If you have an item in a specific hue of blue, instead of only tagging in blue, it helps to be a little more specific and tell if it’s ultramarine or cobalt blue (if you are not sure, try Wikipedia, it’s a very good source for you to identify your hue of colour).

Ultimately, always ask yourself if you are a buyer, what will you key in to the Search bar to find your item.

And for the side note, for traffic from outside of Etsy, if you haven’t yet, I recommend that you study SEO for your shop. There are several articles in Etsy blog Storque on this topic. Do take note that SEO is an ongoing process and you will have to revisit your shop to optimise certain areas from time to time.

Hope this will help everyone in a way or another.

P/S: Phew! I can’t believe I could actually write these down! :)

12 Responses

  1. Thanks for the article! I didn’t know that I should notify people when I add their item in a treasury, I will be sure to do that next time :D

    And congrats to all the items appearing on front page and in the storque posts! (Did you sell any of those though?)

    • Hi Alex! You are welcome! :)

      Make sure you leave intervals between convos so the Etsy bot doesn’t catch you as a ‘spammer’. :)

      Unfortunately hitting the FP and Storque doesn’t always mean sales. We did sell some (I think there were 3 sales in total) and bring in tons of views and hearts. :)

  2. Thank you for sharing Huey! Limiting yourself to a certain timeframe for forums and chat rooms are a good idea, especially since it’s so easy to get sucked in :) I have yet to try etsy chat, so will give it a go one of these days!

    • You are welcome Nadiah!

      I’ve been going to the Chat room lesser lately – I think I should go more often. It’s really fun! :)

  3. Congrats and thank you for sharing your experience here. It has been a long time I have stopped bumping into you in forum or chat..I guess my personal life has taken over the time I spent on Etsy…hehehe…
    Btw, I’m not good at guessing abbreviations. What is SEO means?

  4. Oh and by the way, just to add on, if you meet other sellers who need help in the forum or chat room, offer your help if you could. You never know when you’ll need help the next time, and it’s all good karma. :)

  5. Awesome eye-opening article! Thanks for the tips :)

  6. excellent! thank you huey.

  7. Awesome! I would love to be on Etsy front page! haha

  8. Learn something new & helpful. Bit confused on the treasury list, does the “333” list still applicable (I read the ‘how-to” & it did not mentioned the waiting list thing). May be something wrong with my eyes too, I can’t seem to find the ‘clock’ in the Craftpolis site. How does the ‘clock’ look like? Cheers

Leave a Reply

