• Categories

  • Archives

  • What We Sell

  • Etsy Malaysia on Flickr

    More Photos

Do What You Say, Say What You Do.

I have been wanting to share this for a while, but haven’t been able to put them into words. This is a personal experience from someone I know personally (let’s refer to her as Abby), who was very new to online shopping. This was her first attempt to shop online.

A while ago during a sleepless night, she was surfing online and found someone selling nice clothing on a social network website. She browsed around, and unlike those who didn’t check the T&C and shipping info, she double checked and found out that it was both possible to do COD (cash on delivery) and shipping (at additional cost). The seller even stated the cost of shipping by weight in the T&C as a reference.

Abby decided to purchase something from the seller, and left a message as well as her contact on the page. She wanted to know how she should pay and etc. However, the seller informed her later that shipping services was not available, and they can only do COD at a certain area – which leads to question number 1, if shipping was not available, why were the info there?

A day later, Abby woke up on a Friday morning receiving a text message sent at 1am stating that they can meet at the location tomorrow evening. She was really excited and started arranging her husband to pick up from the seller on Saturday evening. However, the next day when her husband was there, no one appeared. Abby contacted the seller, and she said what she meant by ‘tomorrow’ was Friday (!!!), which leads to question number 2, if you send a message on Friday morning 1am, how can you refer to Friday itself as ‘tomorrow’?

Needless to say, Abby’s first experience of shopping online was horrible.

My question to you (and myself) now is, how often do you check your profile and shop policies, both on Etsy and your blog, or any other social networking sites that you sell your work to make sure they are up to date? I fully agree that it’s a lot of pain to maintain all info updated, especially if you have them on a lot of sites. Do you have any good tips to share?

5 Responses

  1. interesting… When I first started I too had loads of problem with my policies, But after some time spent dealing with a customer, she too did point out some tips for me and I improved from there ^ . ^

    So It’s always a learning process for me ^ . ^

    • True… it’s always a learning process. We normally revisit ours every 1 or 2 months, just to make sure everything is correct. But I have to admit that after signing up at many sites for promotional purposes, I seldom update those that I’m no longer using.

  2. Hi there,

    I’m a writer for Cleo magazine and I’m doing a piece on mother-daughter teams working together. I noticed you posted a note for mother-daughter teams crafting together for Etsy early this month and wondered if you could suggest or put me in touch with any Malaysian mother-daughter crafty teams?

    Thanks in advance and I look forward to hearing from you,
    Debs

  3. Having comprehensive and up-to-date shop policies doesn’t only cover your a** when it comes to transaction disputes, it also shows the buyers how serious you are as an artist and a shop owner. If you don’t believe me, find a cheapo re-seller (there are PLENTY esp those in China, India & Thailand) on Etsy and look at their shop policies. It says a lot about the seller’s credibility.

Leave a Reply

